fruity pebbles. This is a sweet treat from corn but has added frosting on top. In the production of Frosted Flakes there are ingredients that sometimes we do not know so it is doubtful to say that Frosted Flakes are vegan or not. Among the confusing ingredients are pyridoxine hydrochloride and sodium ascorbate.rosted Flakes are a popular cereal as are
Due to the presence of these ingredients, it is sometimes asked if Frosted Flakes are vegan? This is complicated for us to answer, but I want to answer briefly here. Are Frosted Flakes vegan? The answer is “NO”. But it seems that it can be called a vegan product that is not intentional. It is thought that there is a small amount of sheep’s wool in it, so this food should be removed from the vegan diet.
If you are looking for a product like Frosted Flakes that is vegan, maybe you should try this alternative. You can try EnviroKids Organic Lightly Frosted Flakes Amazon, which are widely available on Amazon online. The Frosted Flakes on Amazon are clearly “vegan”. So, it’s no longer a concern about the presence of a mixture of animal ingredients.
Here we see the ingredients used in making Frosted Flakes, including:
- Milled Corn
- Malt flavoring
- High fructose corn syrup
- Sodium ascorbate
- Ascorbic acid
- Reduced iron
- Pyroxidine hydrochloride
- Thiamine hydrochloride
- Folic acid
- Vitamin A palmitate
- Vitamin D
- Vitamin B12
Now, after we look at the ingredients in making Frosted Flakes, are Frosted Flakes vegan or not? Ok, we might need a little explanation on this.
Are Frosted Flakes Vegan?
At length, we can answer “No”. Maybe Frosted Flakes contain animal products, so it’s not a safe food for vegans. If you look at the list of ingredients used, there may be hidden ingredients that indicate that it is from animal products. Are there certain words that you don’t understand from the ingredients above? Of course there are, but does the word refer to animal products?
For example there is the word “niacinamide” or “BHT”, but don’t worry, this is not the word. Actually, the main ingredient that we should pay attention to and pay attention to is vitamin D. We all know that vitamin D is very beneficial for health. That’s why vitamin D is added to products like sugary cereals, so they look healthier.
So, it’s true that vitamin D is the ingredient that makes frosted flakes not vegan. It is used to strengthen breakfast cereals. This is vitamin D3, and this type is always produced from lanolin.
What is lanolin? Lanolin is a substance that comes from or is obtained from sheep’s wool. So, it’s really a shame, actually, the company uses vitamin D from lanolin, even though other plant-based vitamin D ingredients still exist. Vegans should have written to frosted flakes companies asking them to consider using plant-derived vitamin D. We feel that this is an input worth considering so that the frosted flakes go vegan.
Apart from vitamin D, there are other ingredients that you should also consider. This is sugar, sugar is also a taboo for some vegans, this is because sugar sometimes also involves animal products in its manufacture. So, not all sugar in its manufacture is pure using plant products. There are many countries including the United States, where they filter sugar using “bone charcoal”. Bone charcoal is animal bones that are burned, usually they use beef bones for this. So, every sugar that is produced always uses bone charcoal as a filter so that the sugar turns white.
Vegans also have a problem with sugar, but there are also some who don’t have a problem with sugar. According to them, this is a minor thing and is in no way directly related to animal abuse. However, some vegans prefer to avoid them rather than consume them. Ok, actually, if you want to be safe, you can look for the code “vegan” on the product box, so you know whether the sugar is processed using charcoal or not.
Frosted Flakes Are Not Safe for Vegans
Frosted Flakes is not vegan, so this is a not safe food for them. So, in conclusion if you ask are Frosted Flakes vegan? You can now clearly answer that Frosted Flakes are non-vegan. There is the involvement of animals in the manufacture of sugar or in vitamin D which is made from animal and non-vegetable ingredients. Where in vitamin D, they use lanolin which comes from sheep’s wool.
See too: 15 Morning Sunlight Benefits
Besides vitamin D, it is possible that in the sugar used there are also animal products because generally sugar manufacture is filtered with bone charcoal which clearly comes from animals such as cows.