Fruity Pebbles is a well-known cereal and has been a fan for a long time. This is another version of cocoa pebbles with a delicious taste, both of which are equally appetizing. Maybe all of us have chewed this food in childhood, this is a light meal, but filling. Many ask these days, Are Fruity Pebbles vegan? This may be due to the growing awareness about veganism. In fact, for us, whether a person is healthy or not is not guaranteed by vegans or non-vegans, but with moderate consumption.
Ok, here we will see if this all-time favorite cereal is vegan or not!
Are Fruity Pebbles Vegan or Not?
Ok, first, I have to explain what fruity pebbles are. Fruity Pebbles is a child’s favorite cereal, it is made from rice with a delicious and crunchy taste. These cereals come in a variety of delicious flavors and they are very hard to resist. It used to be available in cherry, lemon and orange flavours, then it came in various other flavors which caused many people to like it. So, now Fruity Pebbles is available in many flavors such as grape, blue berry, lime, bedrock berry pink and Incrediberry Purple flavors.
Also read; Is Sprite Vegan? Lets Look The Explanation!
Well, the problem now is whether Fruity Pebbles vegan or not? Let’s see the review to the end.
Are Fruity Pebbles Vegan?
Fruity Pebbles contains several non-vegan ingredients, so it is not vegan. It is a food made with a combination of vegan and non-vegan ingredients so we cannot say it is vegan food. Veganism is food made with entirely vegan ingredients, and this is not the case with Fruity Pebbles.
Vegan Cereal Alternatives to Fruity Pebbles
We all love breakfast cereal because it is a healthy food. Not only healthy, but cereal is also filling and easy to prepare. So, cereal is an important food in a healthy diet. So, you don’t have to stop eating cereal just because you’re on a vegan diet. Here are some vegan alternatives to fruity pebbles that you might want to try.
If you want to get vegan products, check each package and see what ingredients are used. So, Fruity Pebbles is also gluten-free and vegan, so you don’t have to stop eating cereal, because there are many vegan cereal products on the market. Read on to learn more about Fruity Pebbles!
Fruity Pebbles History
Fruity Pebbles are foods that have been around for a long time, much like the sprite drinks we described in the previous article. He has been around since the 1970s and his name was changed to the original Pebbles (launched in 1969). The first variation of Pebbles is Cocoa Pebbles. This is a very popular children’s cartoon character and a favorite of children all year round.
In the past, there were many types of snacks such as Fruity Pebbles which became the favorite of many children. They don’t care if it’s vegan or not. But the tantalizing taste is the reason why cereals are in demand throughout the year.
Ingredients in Fruity Pebbles
How to make Fruity Pebbles, what are the ingredients so that it is not included in the vegan diet.
Fruity Pebbles is a very popular cereal among children and even adults. It all started when vegan diets became popular among dieters who lead a supposedly healthy lifestyle. Until then, many began to question cereals, whether they were vegan or not.
Well, to be able to explain and answer this well, we will dig into the ingredients used in producing Fruity Pebbles. And it turns out that we discovered that the ingredients in Fruity Pebbles are not 100% vegan. So some are vegan and some are non-vegan. So Fruity Pebbles cannot be classified as a food on the veganism list.
- Hydrogenated vegetable oil (Including coconut and palm kernel oils)
- Artificial natural flavoring
- Turmeric Oleoresin (color)
- Red 40 (Check out Red 40’s vegan status)
- Yellow 6
- Blue 1
- Yellow 5
- BHA (flavor protection)
- Blue 2
- Maybe for you this is the usual material. But there are some serious problems if we want to classify it as a vegan food.
- These are non-vegan friendly ingredients in the manufacture of Fruity Pebbles and make Fruity Pebbles a non-vegan food.
- Palm Kernel Oil
- Natural Flavors
- Artificial Colors
- Vitamin D
Ok, now let’s look at these non-vegan ingredients one by one, why is it not vegan.
Sugar is an essential ingredient in every cereal, but if you are a vegan you have to be careful with it. White refined sugar is an ingredient that is processed with bones to get a milky white color. Bones are the stuff of animals!
2. Palm kernel oil
Indeed, this material does not contain animal ingredients, the oil production process is considered to be the thing that destroys orangutans and tigers. Also animals are regularly slaughtered for clearing land to produce oil.
3. Natural flavors
This is something you should be worried about or you could say it’s a gray area. Natural flavor is just a term used and includes milk and other animal products, so vegans avoid this.
See too: List of Natural Body Enhancing Foods
4. Artificial color
Fruity Pebbles contain a lot of artificial colors – Red 40, Yellow 6, Blue 1, Yellow 5, and Blue 2. The thing is, these are tested on animals and are animal cruelty and are strongly opposed by vegans.
5. Vitamin D from cereals
In cereals there is vitamin D and vitamin D in cereals is derived from lanolin or sheep’s wool.